Chicago Flag

Taking Pride In Our Chicago Flag

You don’t have to look far in the Windy City to see the Chicago stars and the Chicago flag throughout this great city – from tattoo’s and wall graffiti to t-shirts, blankets, throw pillows and more…the iconic stars aren’t hard to spot. But, did you know the Chicago flag’s four red stars represents a different symbolic event in Chicago’s history?

First Star

Represents Fort Dearborn and was added to the flag in 1939. Its 6 points symbolize transportation, labor, commerce, finance, populousness and salubrity (defined as favorable to or promoting health).

Second Star

Stands for the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. Its 6 points represent the virtues of religion, education, aesthetics, justice, beneficence and civic pride.

Third Star

Symbolizes the World’s Columbian Exposition of 1893. It’s 6 points stands for political entities Chicago has belong to and the flags that have flown over the are: France, Great Britain, Virginia, the Northwest Territory, Indiana Territory and Illinois.

Fourth Star

Represents the Century of Progress Exposition from 1933-1934. It’s points refer to bragging rights: US’s second largest city (now 3rd largest), Chicago’s Latin motto (‘city in a garden’), Chicago’s “I Will” motto, the Great Central Marketplace, Wonder City and Convention City.


Also, the three white stripes of the flag represent (from top to bottom) the North, West and South sides of the city. The top blue stripe represents Lake Michigan and the North Branch of the Chicago River, while the bottom blue stripe represents the South Branch of the Chicago River and the “Great Canal” over the Chicago Portage.


On your next visit to Chicago, see how quickly you can spot the Chicago flag throughout the city!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × 4 =